Life in the fast lane.

“In sacrifice, I am the food of kings,
And to those who sacrifice joyously, I distribute the fruits.”
–from the Bāṣkalamantra Upaniṣad

Today is Bhīma Ekādaśī, the one Ekādaśī fast that holds the merit of all twenty-four; it is a very strict fast that proscribes both food and water. Since I do have work today, I am abstaining from food only, and willing my insistent belly to quiet down for a little while.

Fasting is useful to reveal the dark smudges on the soul; it isn’t only in the cups that you can tell a person’s full measure, but after a day without food as well. And one of the reasons I don’t like to fast is because I discover what a short-tempered grouch I can be. It seems that much of my bhakti is fueled by peanut butter; I’m devout and calm when well-fed, shaky and irritable when hungry. It’s like the Cookie Monster is alive, real, and writing this blog.

Yet today has been different. Mid-day a euphoria began, as I realised a most excellent purpose of fasting: not to past a test or to cultivate endurance, but to sharpen the hunger for Lord, to turn the force of a voracious appetite to Him. How marvelous, such an opportunity, such a universe. On my lunch break, I fed devotion with dandelions and butterflies and sunlight, and chanted while walking through a park, and forgot stomach pangs.

This small realisation has not shattered the walls of ignorance, to be sure. But it is a blessing nonetheless, to tilt this jewel of existence and see a new facet revealed by illumination.

===
© Arjunī and ridiculously reverent. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Arjunī and ridiculously reverent with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

8 thoughts on “Life in the fast lane.

  1. What a lovely image of you chanting with flowers and butterflies. Thank you for sharing that moment, you really made my day with that. :)

    • :preens: Oh, wait…prideful posturing about fasting isn’t the reason for fasting, is it? DOH!

      By the way, I am four chapters in to “Crowned With Nine Rays” and really loving it so far. I won’t say you should be “proud” of the work because that is :also: missing the point, but I do hope you have daily joy from the many wonderful activities – writing, creating art, and serving your Lord – which you have been blessed in doing well!

      • LOL It is nice to feel good about one’s accomplishments so long as we don’t loose sight of why we do them :)
        I am glad you are enjoying Crowned with Nine Rays. I am working on a second addition in which I am going to rearrange some things, add new research and also add some practical things like a section with some of my favorite compositions in honor of Apollon. Since you are already reading this one I will have to send you the updated pdf to browse through when it is finished at a later date ;)

  2. I am a die hard faster. Not really been able to since last year and the a-fib deal:P But, i know the place you are… and i am so happy you shared this. Have a wonderful weekend<3

    • Afib or no, I admire your strength. Primary Vata dosha in my constitution means that fasting is very difficult for me, physically, mentally.

      You have a wonderful weekend too. <3

Leave a Reply

