Now accepting inspiration.

I try not to talk about myself or my personal journey on this blog, because there’s so much ego on the Internet, and too little Indra. However, my personal life explains my blog’s long gaps between posts: I’ve been working 80 hours a week since April, and I am tired, y’all.

There are tons of lengthy posts I have on the back-burner, but I’m flagging in energy and willpower to write my lengthy monologues. Since I do my best and most enthusiastic work when someone else requests it, I’m asking for help with motivation.

Do you have a question, thought, or idea about Indra? Do you want to know something about me, my religious past or my present as a Western Hindu? Did you come to this site with a question that hasn’t yet been answered by the blog?

Please ask, in the comments. I’ll try to answer anything I can. Thanks in advance – I hope!

===
© Arjunī and ridiculously reverent. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Arjunī and ridiculously reverent with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

11 thoughts on “Now accepting inspiration.

  1. talking about “your” “personal” life can explain a lot about Indra as you said, or Brahman. Share as much as you like. I certainly do, but to make a point. Our lives are our personal examples, and they are to be shared.

    • I completely agree that the life of a devotee can be a living reflection of the Deva, and that personal experiences certainly are relevant.

      However, when contemplating that beautiful principle, I attempt to write something about myself, only to conclude that the result is either a) whiny, b) boring, c) egotistical, d) tangential, e) slangy, f) rambling, or g) all of the above. I then muse that perhaps only the great devotees have experiences and contemplations worth sharing, hit “delete,” and conclude that it will be another day, another lack-of-blog-post.

      This is one reason that I requested questions and comments, so that – at least for a little while – writing feels like a pleasant help to someone else instead of excessive indulgence to myself. :)

    • 80 hours indeed – or more if there’s overtime on offer. This may change soon; I’ve requested to drop from full- to part-time status at one of my jobs, and am waiting for news of a revised schedule.

      Your name is one of my favourite boy names! Of course, I’m a little biased towards any name ending in -endra. :)

      Regards!
      –Arjunī

  2. Chanced onto your site…..I have been searching for info on Indra (haven’t gone through your blog yet, is your whole blog about Indra/hinduism) why a Western Hindu…….why do you have to be that…..aren’t you already….that…..
    I agree with you about lot of ego and less of indra…..interesting comment…..can you explain….
    How did you get introduced to Indra…..
    Where can get a Sanskrit original text of Indra sahasranamam and its audio…..
    The IndrakrutMahalakshmiStrotram is so beautiful……I have loved it since I heard it many years ago.

    • –is your whole blog about Indra/hinduism
      Yes, it is.

      –why a Western Hindu…….why do you have to be that…..aren’t you already….that…..
      I’m not sure I understand your question correctly…but I’m from America and live in Canada, so I am indeed a Westerner.

      I agree with you about lot of ego and less of indra…..interesting comment…..can you explain….
      Many people keep online journals to discuss their lives, beliefs, and thoughts; there is at least a little ego inherent in the desire to announce oneself in this way. Even when writing about the Divine, it is hard to keep the meddlesome ego out of it…
      There is much available online about other Hindu Devas, but there is little written about Indra. Most of the information, in English, consists of translated Vedic texts (the old British translations, which are out of copyright and therefore free – for which I’m grateful – but are inadequate and superficial as well), and negative tales and portrayals (which I feel are misinterpretations of Indra’s nature). So I wanted to offer my writing as a counterpoint.
      My aim is not to chronicle my life story – there are already so many blog “biographies” online, and I am no-one special – but rather to discuss Indra for devotion, wisdom, and reverence, and push aside my pride and ego as much as possible.

      How did you get introduced to Indra…..
      Having studied anthropology in university, having practiced Wicca and Vodou, over the years I became familiar with many Divine names and religions from around the world.
      I had also learned yoga āsana in a university class and practiced it daily for health.
      A few years ago, I considered resuming this āsana practice, so I started reading more in-depth about Yoga. I began to learn about Hinduism in general and Śiva in particular, and then considered that, to understand the religion, I should read its beginnings in the Vedas.
      Reading Veda translations online, I was fascinated and utterly drawn in by Indra, and later realised, that all of the forms of God to whom I had dedicated as a pagan/Vodouisant, were analogues of Indra in other cultures – as if I had circled around Him for many years and finally found Him.
      That is the short version of a much longer story.

      Where can get a Sanskrit original text of Indra sahasranamam and its audio…..
      The Sanskrit original text is available from the Arunachala Ashrama, in the Collected Works of Gaṇapati Muni, volumes 1 through 12. The volumes are sold as a set, but the website mentions that individual volumes might be available for sale if you contact them. Volume 3 contains the indrasahasranāmastotram, as well as other works in praise of Indra.
      For the audio, there was an audio CD made by company Auro Nada, of the Viṣṇu and Indra Sahasranāma stotra. Unfortunately, the CD went out of print before I could purchase a copy, and I have not been able to find any other audio recording.

      The IndrakrutMahalakshmiStrotram is so beautiful……I have loved it since I heard it many years ago.
      Indra’s praises of other Devas touch the heart and the mind with such delight; they are filled with eloquent poetry and beautiful imagery. I wish someone would compile the gorgeous Mahālakṣmīstotra and his other compositions in a short pamphlet or word document; it would be a lovely collection of devotional hymns.

      Anyway, welcome, and thank you for commenting; I hope you find the information you’re seeking about Indra!

      • “That is the short version of a much longer story.” – I know we have touched on that journey in conversation, but I would love to hear the full version. :)

  3. I have missed you. <3 Beloved, each of us is a portion of an angle which is Beloved. Your angle is so specially Divine to me…and so each word, wether mundane or inspired is truly precious. You requested questions so here is mine.:P

    What's your favorite color/s and why?

    • Thank you, dear, for your loving words. They are so much appreciated. <3

      All of the colours of the rainbow – the indra-dhanush – are glorious and a revelry for the senses. I do have two preferences:
      Green is the colour of growing things and life, the heart chakra, and lies beautifully balanced mid-spectrum. I feel full and content when I wear it. And I was quite happy when my muddy hazel eyes changed to an olive green as I grew older…

      The other colour I love is the red-purple hue called Tyrian or imperial purple. (It's a foolish example, but Elle nail lacquer in Imperial Purple is the right shade.) I used to have a tie-dyed dress of it and wore it constantly. It feels so regal and strengthening, ancient and commanding. I have read that the ancients described it as "the colour of clotted blood," so perhaps that sort of 'warrior' association is another reason that I find it compelling.

      Really, I suppose these two colours express different, and important, aspects of Indra; I never thought about it before.

      What about you? Do you have favourite(s)? :)

Leave a Reply

